Databases

Database Title Sort descending Description Keywords
AccessAnesthesiology from McGraw-Hill Anesthesiology reference tools. Anesthesia, Anesthesiology
AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill Provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professionals with access to more than 60 medical titles. Medicine
AccessPharmacy from McGraw-Hill Pharmacy and pharmacology reference tools. Drugs, Pharmacies, Pharmacology, Pharmacy
African Index Medicus International index to African health literature and information sources. Medicine
Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR) ATSDR protects communities from harmful health effects related to exposure to natural and man-made hazardous substances. Environmental Health, Toxicology
Alcohol Studies Database Contains over 80,000 citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and audio-visual materials. Alcohol Abuse, Alcoholics, Alcoholism, Substance-Related Disorders
Altmetric Explorer for Institutions Database of altmetrics—digital indicators of attention—for research published by UMMS faculty authors. Altmetrics indicators can include discussion on peer review platforms, commentary on social media, and citations in non-journals sources. Altmetrics, Article-level Metrics, Research Impact, Scholarly Communication
Anatomy.tv (Primal Pictures) Includes multi-layered, three-dimensional views of the human body. Anatomy
Archival Collections at UMass Medical School Database of materials held in the University of Massachusetts Medical School (UMMS) Archives, including faculty papers, departmental and institutional records, artifacts and other materials that document the history of UMMS. Archives, History of Medicine
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination Delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for students and faculty in medical and nursing programs. Anatomy, Family Practice
Books@Ovid Includes full text, references, updates, and graphics from some of the most respected sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology. Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacology
CINAHL with Full Text CINAHL® with Full Text provides full text for more than 610 nursing and allied health journals indexed in CINAHL®. Nursing
Cochrane Library (Cochrane Collaboration) Collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration. Medicine
Community Health Status Indicators From the CDC. Provides county-level maps on access to care, demographic information, environmental health, and vital statistics. Public Health
Digital Commonwealth Portal to the cultural heritage held in museums, historical societies, colleges, libraries and other cultural repositories in Massachusetts. You can search or browse the digital collections of member institutions for manuscripts, images, and documents. Libraries
DynaMed Plus A clinical reference tool created by a physician for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the point-of-care. Updated daily. Medicine
ECOTOX Created and maintained by the U.S. EPA. Source for locating single chemical toxicity data for aquatic life, terrestrial plants and wildlife. Environmental Health, Toxicology
Envirofacts Single point of access to select U.S. EPA environmental data. Environmental Health
eScholarship@UMMS Digital archive offering worldwide access to the research and scholarly output of the University of Massachusetts Medical School community. Medicine, Science
FDsys (Federal Digital System) Provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Jurisprudence, Legislation
Federal Register The Federal Register (FR) is the official journal of the federal government of the United States that contains government agency rules, proposed rules, and public notices. Legislation
Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Protects the public health by ensuring the safety, efficacy, and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, and medical devices; and by ensuring the safety of our nation's food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation. Drugs, Public Health
Food Environment Atlas Assembles statistics on food environment indicators to stimulate research on the determinants of food choices and diet quality. Restaurants, Nutritional Sciences, Statistics
Gene Expression Omnibus (GEO) Functional genomics data repository supporting MIAME-compliant data submissions. Genes, Molecular Biology
Genetics Home Reference Provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variation on human health. Browse more than 1,200 health conditions, diseases, and syndromes. Genetics, Genetics, Medical, Neoplasms
Global Health Observatory (GHO) WHO's gateway to health-related statistics for its 194 Member States. Statistics
Google™ Scholar Search diverse sources for scholarly literature (books, articles and abstracts, etc.) in a wide range of disciplines. Medicine, Science
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine

Updated regularly, this online textbook version provides full search capabilities of the 19th edition of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine.

Internal Medicine
Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB) Focuses on the toxicology of potentially hazardous chemicals. Provides information on human exposure, industrial hygiene, emergency handling procedures, environmental fate, regulatory requirements, nanomaterials, and related areas. Toxicology
Health & Wellness Resource Center A collection of online books, journals, magazines and pamphlets about alternative and complementary therapies. Materials are geared for both consumers and health care professionals. Complementary Therapies
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) Information on measurement instruments in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HaPI assists researchers and educators to identify measures needed for research studies and grant proposals. Psychology, Statistics
Health Reference Center Academic Periodicals and reference book content supporting research in health studies. Medicine, Nursing
Henry Stewart Talks - The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection A leading provider of specially prepared, animated, online, audio-visual lectures, seminar-style talks and case studies for medical schools. Medicine, Science
HIV Sequence Database Comprehensive data on HIV genetic sequences. Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome
Household Products Database Links over 16,000 consumer brands to health effects from Safety Data Sheets (formerly Material Safety Data Sheets), provided by manufacturers and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients. Toxicology
HSRProj (Health Services Research Projects in Progress) From the National Library of Medicine. Information about ongoing health services research and public health projects. Health Services Research, Public Health
ICPSR Data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. Behavioral Sciences, Social Sciences
Images from the History of Medicine (IHM) Includes image files of a wide variety of visual media including fine art, photographs, engravings, and posters that illustrate the social and historical aspects of medicine dating from the 15th to 21st century. History of Medicine
Influenza Virus Resource Users can build queries, retrieve sequences, find complete genome sets, do multiple sequence alignment, and build clustering or phylogenetic trees. Communicable Diseases, Virology
International Healthcare Opportunities Clearinghouse (IHOC) Designed for health-care professionals and students who are interested in volunteer work with underserved communities at home or abroad. Medicine, Nursing
JSTOR Provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Medicine, Science
Lexicomp® A collection of clinical databases and clinical decision support tools that provides users with an extensive medical library. Drugs, Pharmacology, Toxicology
LexisNexis® Academic Provides databases of full-text news items, company and financial information, federal, state, and international legal materials, medical and general reference sources. Newspapers, Legislation
Massachusetts Physician Profiles Comprehensive reference source to help consumers find a particular physician, find physicians in the consumer's local area, or to look for physicians in a specific specialty. Medicine
Medical Heritage Library Digital curation collaborative among some of the world’s leading medical libraries, promoting free and open access to quality historical resources in medicine. History of Medicine
MedPix® From the National Library of Medicine. Nearly 59,000 images. Medicine
Micromedex® Micromedex provides access to drug information, drug interactions, dosing tools, toxicology information, patient handouts, acute care and reproductive risk databases. Drugs, Drug Therapy, Pharmacology, Toxicology
National Center for Health Statistics Provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people. Statistics, Vital Statistics
Natural Medicines Provides high quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Now includes contributors from more than 100 academic institutions. Complementary Therapies
NTIS: National Technical Information Service Provides innovative data services to federal agencies, through joint venture partnerships with the private sector, to advance federal data priorities, promote economic growth, and enable operational excellence. Science
Nursing Reference Center An evidence-based information resource designed specifically for nurses. Nursing
OECD Data From the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Demographics, Statistics
OECD Health Statistics OECD's Online Library for books, papers and statistics and the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. Statistics, Vital Statistics
Official ABMS® Directory of Board Certified Medical Specialists, The Provides certification status and professional information about board certified physicians from 24 Member Boards, in more than 150 specialties and subspecialties. Medicine
Official Document System of the United Nations Full-text, born-digital UN documents published from 1993 onward, including documents of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and their subsidiaries, as well as administrative issuances and other documents. Legislation, Statistics
Ovid A gateway to several vital clinical resources including MEDLINE and PsycINFO, as well as full-text books and journals. Medicine
Proteopedia Collaborative 3D-encyclopedia of proteins & other molecules. Biochemistry
PsycINFO® (1806 - 1966) Citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Journal coverage includes material selected from approximately 2000 periodicals. Psychiatry, Psychology
PsycINFO® (1967 - present) Citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Journal coverage includes material selected from approximately 2000 periodicals. Psychiatry, Psychology
Public Health Image Library (PHIL) Content is organized into hierarchical categories of people, places, and science, and is presented as single images, image sets, and multimedia files. Many images are copyright protected. Public Health
PubMed Public access database to citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Medicine, Science
R2 Digital Library Over 100 electronic textbooks in medicine, nursing and allied health. Medicine, Nursing
RefWorks An online research management, writing and collaboration tool. Classes and a handout are available through the library's website. Research Support
SAGE Research Methods Providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Research Support
Science Tracer Bullets Online Locate information on science and technology subjects. Includes brief introductions to the topics, lists of resources and strategies for finding more. Science
SciFinder® A research tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines including chemistry. Registration through the Library is required. Contact Lisa.Palmer@umassmed.edu for a personal login and password. Chemistry
SciTech Connect Science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy. Includes nearly 3 million entries. Science
SciVal Research intelligence allowing users to understand and evaluate research impacts. Registration through the Library is required; please contact Len.Levin@umassmed.edu or Rebecca.Reznik-Zellen@umassmed.edu to register. Research Support
Scopus The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Science
STAT!Ref Cross-searchable healthcare reference that integrates core textbook titles with evidence-based resources and innovative tools. Medicine, Nursing
Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) Publicly available databases containing information on releases of specific toxic chemicals and their management as waste, as reported annually by U.S. industrial and federal facilities. Toxicology
TOXLINE Bibliographic database of citations from specialized journals and other sources. Provides references covering the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals. Drugs, Pharmacology, Toxicology
Trials Register of Promoting Health Interventions (TRoPHI) Focused coverage of trials of interventions in health promotion and public health worldwide. Drug Therapy, Public Health
U.S. Pharmacopeia Source for FDA-enforceable quality standards for drugs, dietary supplements, excipients, procedures for tests, assays, and analytical methods. Drugs, Pharmacies, Pharmacology, Pharmacy
UpToDate UpToDate is a comprehensive clinical information resource specifically designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice. Medicine
UpToDate: Off-campus/CME/Mobile UpToDate is a comprehensive clinical information resource specifically designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice. This link gives access to CME. Medicine
USDA Food Composition Databases Search by food item, food group, or manufacturer's name to find the nutrient information for your food items. Nutritional Sciences
USMLE Easy Thousands of online questions covering all the disciplines and organ systems covered on the USMLE exam. Users must first sign up for an account using the "Institutional Sign In" link at the top. Education, Medicine
Virginia Henderson Global Nursing e-Repository Global digital service that collects, preserves and shares nursing research and evidence-based practice materials. Nursing
Visible Human Project®, The Complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of the normal male and female human bodies, from the National Library of Medicine. Anatomy
VisualDx Clinical decision support system intended to be used by medical practitioners to assist in differential diagnosis. Medicine
World Health Report Combines an expert assessment of global health, including statistics relating to all countries, with a focus on a specific subject. Demographics, Public Health, Statistics
WorldCat Local The Lamar Soutter Library's online catalog of its print book and journal collections. Medicine, Nursing, Science