home > research tools & resources > resources by subject > subject guide for public health
 

Find Resources by Subject: Public Health

Online Journals | Online Textbooks | Database Resources | Other Internet Sites

Online Journals

TitleAccess LevelFull text
Advance for Medical Laboratory Professionals Free online Full text: 1995 - present
AIDS Policy & Law Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 11 (1996) - present
American Journal of Health Studies Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 13 (1997) - present
American Journal of Preventive Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 14 (1998) - present
American Journal of Public Health Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 2 (1912) - present
Annals of Health Law Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: 1995 - present
Annual Review of Public Health Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1980) - present
Archives of Public Health Free online Full text: Vol. 55 (1997) - present
Asia-Pacific Population Journal Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (1986) - present
ATPM Quarterly Free online Full text: Vol. 49 (2003) - present
Australian and New Zealand Journal of Public Health Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 21 (1997) - present
Australian Journal of Rural Health, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 5 (1997) - present
BMC International Health and Human Rights Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2001) - present
BMC Public Health Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2001) - present
Bulletin - American Association of Public Health Physicians Free online Full text: Vol. 45 (1999) - present
Bulletin of the World Health Organization Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (1948) - present
Cadernos de Saúde Pública Free online Full text: Vol. 12 (1996) - present
Canadian Journal of Public Health Free online Full text: Vol. 88 (1997) up to six months ago
Cases in Public Health Communication & Marketing Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2007) - present
CDC Public Health Law News Free online Full text: July 14, 2003 - present
Closing the Gap Newsletter Free online Full text: January 1995 - August 2003
CommonHealth Free online Full text: Vol. 4 (1996) - present
Communiqué: Quarterly Newsletter of the American Association of Public Health Dentistry Free online Full text: Vol. 21, no. 4 (Dec. 2002) - present
Conflict and Health Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2007) - present
Consumer Product Safety Review Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (1996) - present
Demography Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1964) up to two years ago
Disaster Medicine and Public Health Preparedness Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2007) - present
East African Journal of Public Health Free online Full text: Vol. 3 (2006) - present
Environmental Health and Preventive Medicine Free online Full text: Vol. 5 (2000) - present
Ethnicity & Health Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1, no. 3 (Sep. 1996) up to twelve months ago
Euro Observer Health Policy Bulletin Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (1999) - present
European Journal of Health Economics, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 3 (2002) - present
European Journal of Public Health, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 6 (1996) - present
Evidence-based Healthcare & Public Health Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 8, no. 5 (Oct. 2004) - vol. 9 (2005)
Forum for Family and Consumer Issues, The Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (1996) - present
Gaceta Sanitaria Free online Full text: Vol. 16 (2002) - present
Global Journal of Health Science Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2009) - present
Globalization and Health Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2005) - present
Harvard Public Health Review Free online Full text: Fall 1998 - present
Health Affairs Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1981) - present
Health and Human Rights Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1994) - present
Health Care Analysis Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 7 (1999) - present
Health Education & Behavior Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 26 (1999) - present
Health Education Research Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 11 (1996) - present
Health Law Journal Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 5 (1997) - present
Health Matrix: Journal of Law Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1991) - present
Health Policy and Planning Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 11 (1996) - present
Health Reports Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 12 (2000) - present
Human Ecology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 25 (1997) - present
Hygiea Internationalis: an Interdisciplinary Journal for the History of Public Health Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (1999) - present
Indian Journal of Community Medicine Free online Full text: 2000 - present
International Digest of Health Legislation Free online Full text: Vol. 49 (1998) - present
International Electronic Journal of Health Education, The Free online Full text: 2001 - present
International Journal for Equity in Health Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2002) - present
International Journal of Health Geographics Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2002) - present
International Journal of Public Health Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 52 (2007) - present
International Review of the Red Cross Free online Full text: January 1995 - present
Journal of Border Health Free online Full text: Vol. IV, no. 2 (1999) - XI, no. 1 (2001)
Journal of Community Health Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 22 (1997) - present
Journal of Community Health Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1984) - present
Journal of Consumer Affairs Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 19 (1985) - present
Journal of Epidemiology & Community Health Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 52 (1998) - present
Journal of Family Welfare, The Free online Full text: Vol. 50 (2004) - present
Journal of Health Politics, Policy and Law Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 25 (2000) - present
Journal of Human Ecology Free online Full text: Vol. 15 (2004) - present
Journal of Immigrant and Minority Health Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 8 (2006) - present
Journal of Immigrant Health Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1999) - vol. 7 (2005)
Journal of Law and Health Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 8 (1993) - present
Journal of Marriage and Family Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 62 (2000) - present
Journal of Medical Screening Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 8 (2001) - vol. 11, no. 1 (Spring 2004)
Journal of Mental Health Policy and Economics, The Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (1998) - vol. 6 (2003)
Journal of Public Health (OUP) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 18 (1996) - present
Journal of Public Health (Springer) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 12 (2004) - present
Journal of Public Health Dentistry Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 57 (1997) - present
Journal of Public Health Management & Practice Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 5, no. 2 (Mar. 1999) - vol. 11 (2005)
Journal of Public Health Policy Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 25 (2004) - present
Journal of Refugee Studies Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 9 (1996) - present
Journal of Religion and Health Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 36 (1997) - present
Journal of the American Public Health Association Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (1911)
Journal of Travel Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 8 (2001) up to twelve months ago
Medical Letter on the CDC & FDA Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: 1995 - present
Milbank Memorial Fund Quarterly Bulletin, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1923) - vol. 11 (1933)
Milbank Memorial Fund Quarterly, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 12 (1934) - vol. 50 (1972)
Milbank Memorial Fund Quarterly. Health and Society, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 51 (1973) - vol. 63 (1985)
Milbank Quarterly, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 75 (1997) - present
MMWR. Recommendations and Reports Free online Full text: Vol. 39 (1990) - present
Nicotine & Tobacco Research Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1999) - present
Northwest Public Health Free online Full text: Spring/Summer 2001 - present
Ochsner Journal, The Free online Full text: Vol. 2 (2000) - present
Online Journal of Rural Nursing and Health Care Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2000) - present
Open Public Health Journal, The Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2008) - present
PAHO Today Free online Full text: September 2002
Physis: Revista de Saúde Coletiva Free online Full text: Vol. 14, no. 2 (Jul.-Dec. 2004) - present
Pimatisiwin: A Journal of Aboriginal and Indigenous Community Health Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2003) - present
Policy, Politics, & Nursing Practice Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2000) - present
Population Briefs Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (1995) - present
Population Health Management Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 11, no. 4 (Aug. 2008) - present
Population Health Metrics Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2003) - present
Population Reports Free online  
Prevention Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 45 (1993) - present
Prevention Science Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2000) - present
Preventive Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 22 (1993) - present
Public Health and the Environment Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2002) - vol. 2 (2003)
Public Health Ethics Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2008) - present
Public Health GIS News and Information Free online Full text: No. 27 (Mar. 1999) - present
Public Health Law News Free online Full text: July 2003 - present
Public Health Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 16 (1999) - present
Public Health Nutrition Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 3 (2000) - vol. 4 (2001)
Public Health Reports Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 116 (2001) - present
Quality/Calidad/Qualité Free online  
Refugee Reports Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (1979) - present
Refugees Magazine Free online Full text: 1994 - present
Revista Cubana de Salud Pública Free online Full text: Vol. 21 (1995) - present
Revista de Saúde Pública Free online Full text: Vol. 30, no. 2 (Apr. 1996) - present
Revista de Salud Pública (Bogota, Colombia) Free online Full text: Vol. 5, no. 3 (Sep./Dec. 2003) - present
Revista Española de Salud Pública Free online Full text: Vol. 71 (1997) - present
Salud Pública de México Free online Full text: Vol. 39 (1997) - present
Scandinavian Journal of Public Health Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 33 (2005) - vol. 34 (2006)
TDRnews Free online Full text: No. 58 (Feb. 1999) - present
Tropical Medicine & International Health Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1996) - present
Vital and Health Statistics Series Free online  
World Health Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 43, no. 3 (Apr./May 1990) - vol. 51, no. 6 (Nov./Dec. 1998)
World Health Report, The Free online Full text: 1995 - present
Yale Journal of Health Policy, Law, and Ethics Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2001) - present
Zoonoses and Public Health Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 54 (2007) - present

Top of page

Online Textbooks

TitleAccess Level
Assessing the Biological Weapons and Bioterrorism Threat (2005 ed.) Free online
Bioterrorism Sourcebook, The (1st (2006) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Chemical and Biological Terrorism: Research and Development to Improve Civilian Medical Response (1999 ed.) Free online
Clinician's Handbook of Preventive Services (2nd (1998) ed.) Free online
Estimating the Public Health Benefits of Proposed Air Pollution Regulations (2002 ed.) Free online
Future of the Public's Health in the 21st Century, The (2003 ed.) Free online
Global Burden of Disease and Risk Factors (2006 ed.) Free online
Guide to Clinical Preventive Services (2008 ed.) Free online
Healers Abroad: Americans Responding to the Human Resource Crisis in HIV/AIDS (2005 ed.) Free online
Health at a Glance 2007: OECD Indicators Free online
Health Information for International Travel (2008 ed.) Free online
Health Promotion (1st (2006) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Medical Spanish (4th (2005) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Teaching Patients with Low Literacy Skills (2nd (1996) ed.) Free online
World Health Report, The Free online

Top of page

Database Resources

Title Description Access Level
BiblioMap: Health Promotion References The EPPI-Centre systematic reviews on several aspects of health promotion. Free online
CDC Wonder A portal of links to a wide variety of reports and numeric public health data. Free online
DESASTRES, Disaster Documentation Center Collection   Free online
DoPHER, Database of Promoting Health Effectiveness Reviews   Free online
EthnoMed   Free online
EurasiaHealth Knowledge Network Multilingual Library   Free online
Fast Stats A-Z (CDC)   Free online
Global Health Indexes over 16,000 serial sources. Provides an alternative, complementary point of reference for the areas of communicable and tropical diseases, parasitology, human nutrition, community and public health, and medicinal and poisonous plants. Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Healthy People 2010 Information Access Project   Free online
HLAS, Handbook of Latin American Studies   Free online
MassCHIP Massachusetts Community Health Information Profile (MassCHIP) provides free access to many health and social indicators. Community-level data is available to assess health needs, monitor health status indicators, and evaluate health programs. Free online
Natality Request   Free online
Native Health Research Database Bibliographic resources for health and health care of Native Americans. From the University of New Mexico Health Sciences Library and Informatics Center. Free online
Population Index   Free online
Public Health Image Library (PHIL) Content is organized into hierarchical categories of people, places, and science, and is presented as single images, image sets, and multimedia files. Many images are copyright protected. Free online
Reports of the Surgeon General, The   Free online
Resource Guide for Public Health Preparedness   Free online
Smoking & Health Resource Library Contains abstracts of tobacco-related articles from medical and professional journals; books and book chapters; dissertations; reports; conference proceedings and conference papers; government documents from federal, state, local, and foreign entities. Free online

Top of page

Other Internet Sites Related to Public Health

Title Description
Health Services Research & Public Health Information Programs From the National Library of Medicine
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce  
UMass Family Medicine and Community Health Department  
UMass Preventive/Behavioral Medicine Department  

Top of page

Search QUIN for "Public Health"