home > research tools & resources > resources by subject > subject guide for nursing
 

Find Resources by Subject: Nursing

Online Journals | Online Textbooks | Database Resources | Other Internet Sites

Online Journals

TitleAccess LevelFull text
AACN Advanced Critical Care Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 17, no. 2 (Apr./Jun. 2006) - present
AACN Clinical Issues: Advanced Practice in Acute Critical Care Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 7 (1996) - vol. 17, no. 1 (Jan./Mar. 2006)
AANA Journal Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 69 (2001) - present
AAOHN Journal Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 48 (2000) - present
ABNF Journal Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 13, no. 6 (Nov./Dec. 2002) - present
Advances in Skin & Wound Care Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 14 (2001) - vol. 16 (2003)
American Journal of Critical Care Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 11 (2002) - present
American Journal of Hospice & Palliative Medicine® Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 16 (1999) - present
American Journal of Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 96 (1996) - present
American Nurse Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 33 (2001) - present
Annals of Long-Term Care Free online Full text: Vol. 6 (1998) - present
ANS. Advances in Nursing Science Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 17, no. 3 (Mar. 1995) - present
AORN Journal Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 61 (1995) - present
Applied Nursing Research Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 8 (1995) - present
Archives of Psychiatric Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 9 (1995) - present
Australian and New Zealand Journal of Mental Health Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 7 (1998) - vol. 10 (2001)
Australian Electronic Journal of Nursing Education (AEJNE), The Free online Full text: June 1996 - April 2002
Australian Journal of Rural Health, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 5 (1997) - present
Australian Nursing Journal Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 2, no. 7 (Feb. 1995) - present
AWHONN Lifelines Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1997) - vol. 10 (2006)
Bariatric Nursing and Surgical Patient Care Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2006) - present
BMC Nursing Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2002) - present
British Journal of Community Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 7 (2002) - vol. 9 (2004)
British Journal of Midwifery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 10 (2002) - vol. 12 (2004)
British Journal of Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 11 (2002) - vol. 13 (2004)
Brown University Long-Term Care Quality Advisor Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 8, no. 8 (Apr. 29, 1996) - vol. 12, no. 2 (Feb. 2000)
California Nurse Free online Full text: November 1996 - present
Canadian Journal of Nursing Leadership Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 12, no. 4 (Nov./Dec. 1999) - present
Cancer Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 19 (1996) - present
CIN Plus Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 4 (2001) - vol. 5, no. 3 (2002)
Clinical Journal of Oncology Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 11, no. 6 (Dec. 2007) - present
Clinical Nurse Specialist Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 10 (1996) - present
Clinical Nursing Research Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 8 (1999) - present
Computers in Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 14 (1996) - vol. 20, no. 1 (2002)
Computers, Informatics, Nursing: CIN Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 20, no. 2 (Mar./Apr. 2002) - present
Contemporary Longterm Care Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 18 (1995) - vol. 25, no. 3 (Mar. 2002)
Critical Care Nurse Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 22, no. 5 (Oct. 2002) - present
Critical Care Nursing Quarterly Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 21, no. 4 (Feb. 1999) - vol. 28 (2005)
Dermatology Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 7 (1995) - present
Dimensions of Critical Care Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 20 (2001) up to one month ago
Emergency Nurse Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 11, no. 2 (May 2003) - vol. 13 (2005)
European Journal of Cancer Care Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 5 (1996) - present
European Journal of Oncology Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 2 (1998) - present
Evidence-Based Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1998) - present
Florida Nurse Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 52, no. 3 (Sep. 2004) - present
Gastroenterology Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 19 (1996) - present
Heart & Lung: The Journal of Acute and Critical Care Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 24 (1995) - present
Holistic Nursing Practice Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 10, no. 2 (Jan. 1996) - present
Home Healthcare Nurse Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 18 (2000) - vol. 21 (2003)
Image - the Journal of Nursing Scholarship Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 27 (1995) - vol. 31 (1999)
Intensive and Critical Care Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 21 (2005) - vol. 22, no. 2 (Apr. 2006)
International Journal of Mental Health Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 11 (2002) - present
International Journal of Nursing Education Scholarship Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2004) - present
International Journal of Nursing Practice Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 4 (1998) - present
International Journal of Nursing Terminologies and Classifications Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 14, no. 3 (Jul. 2003) - present
International Journal of Urological Nursing Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2007) - present
International Nursing Review Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 45 (1998) - present
Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 21, no. 2 (Feb. 1998) up to twelve months ago
Issues in Mental Health Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 19 (1998) up to one year ago
JBI Reports Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2003)
JONA's Healthcare Law, Ethics, and Regulation Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 3 (2001) - present
Journal for Nurse Practitioners, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2005) - present
Journal for Nurses in Staff Development Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 14, no. 3 (May/Jun. 1998) - present
Journal for Specialists in Pediatric Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 8, no. 3 (Jul. 2003) - present
Journal of Advanced Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 25 (1997) - present
Journal of Cardiovascular Nursing, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 13, no. 2 (Jan. 1999) - vol. 20 (2005)
Journal of Child and Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 16, no. 3 (Jul. 2003) - present
Journal of Clinical Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 6, no. 2 (Mar. 1997) - present
Journal of Community Health Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1984) - present
Journal of Community Nursing Free online Full text: Vol. 12 (1998) - present
Journal of Continuing Education in Nursing, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 31 (2000) - present
Journal of Cultural Diversity Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 10 (2003) - present
Journal of Emergency Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 21 (1995) - present
Journal of Gerontological Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 26 (2000) - present
Journal of Holistic Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 17 (1999) - present
Journal of Hospice & Palliative Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1999) - present
Journal of Human Lactation Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 21 (2005) - present
Journal of Infusion Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 24, no. 4 (Jul./Aug. 2001) - present
Journal of Intravenous Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 19 (1996) - vol. 24, no. 3 (2001)
Journal of Midwifery & Women's Health Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 45 (2000) - present
Journal of Nurse-Midwifery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 40 (1995) - vol. 44 (1999)
Journal of Nursing Administration Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 26 (1996) - present
Journal of Nursing Education Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 39 (2000) - present
Journal of Nursing Management Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 4, no. 2 (Mar. 1996) - present
Journal of Nursing Measurement Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1993) - present
Journal of Nursing Research, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 10, no. 4 (Dec. 2002) - present
Journal of Nursing Scholarship Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 32 (2000) - present
Journal of Nursing Staff Development Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 12 (1996) - vol. 14, no. 2 (Mar./Apr. 1998)
Journal of Obstetric, Gynecologic, and Neonatal Nursing: JOGNN Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 26 (1997) - present
Journal of Pediatric Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 10 (1995) - present
Journal of Pediatric Oncology Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 16 (1999) - present
Journal of PeriAnesthesia Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 11 (1996) - present
Journal of Perinatal & Neonatal Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 12, no. 4 (Mar. 1999) - vol. 19 (2005)
Journal of Professional Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 11 (1995) - present
Journal of Psychiatric and Mental Health Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 4, no. 2 (Apr. 1997) - present
Journal of Psychosocial Nursing and Mental Health Services Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 38 (2000) - present
Journal of Rural Health, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 13 (1997) - present
Journal of the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 9 (1997) - present
Journal of the American Psychiatric Nurses Association Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 5 (1999) - present
Journal of the Association of Nurses in AIDS Care Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 6 (1995) - present
Journal of the Society of Pediatric Nurses Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 4 (1999) - vol. 6, no. 4 (2001)
Journal of Undergraduate Nursing Scholarship Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (1999) - present
Journal of Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 23 (1996) - present
Lippincott's Case Management Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 5, no. 4 (Jul./Aug. 2000) - vol. 11 (2006)
Massachusetts Nurse Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 74, no. 2 (Mar. 2003) - present
MCN, The American Journal of Maternal Child Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: 1996 - present
MEDSURG Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 8 (1999) - present
Midwifery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 9 (1993) - present
Midwifery Today Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: No. 56 (Winter 2000) - present
Minority Nurse Newsletter Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 9, no. 4 (Winter 2002) - present
N & HC Perspectives on Community Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 16 (1995) - vol. 18, no. 2 (Mar./Apr. 1997)
Nephrology Nursing Journal Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 28, no. 4 (Aug. 2001) - present
Nurse Education Today Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vols. 13-14 (1993-1994); vol. 19 (1999) - present
Nurse Educator Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 21 (1996) - present
Nurse Practitioner Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 26 (2001) - present
Nurse Researcher Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 2, no. 3 (Mar. 1995) - present
Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 5 (1975) - vol. 37, no. 8 (Aug. 2007)
Nursing & Health Care Perspectives Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 18, no. 3 (May/Jun. 1997) - vol. 22 (2001)
Nursing Administration Quarterly Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 23, no. 2 (Winter 1999) - vol. 29, no. 4 (Oct./Dec. 2005)
Nursing and Health Sciences Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1999) - present
Nursing Case Management Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1996) - vol. 5, no. 3 (May/Jun. 2000)
Nursing Diagnosis Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 10 (1999) - vol. 13, no. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 2002)
Nursing Economic$ Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1983) - present
Nursing Education Perspectives Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 23 (2002) - present
Nursing Ethics Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 4 (1997) - present
Nursing for Women's Health Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 11 (2007) - present
Nursing Forum Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 38, no. 3 (Jul. 2003) - present
Nursing in Critical Care Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 8 (2003) - present
Nursing Inquiry Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 5 (1998) - present
Nursing Management Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 26 (1995) - vol. 38, no. 8 (Aug. 2007)
Nursing Management (Harrow) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1, no. 8 (Jan. 1995) - present
Nursing Older People Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 13, no. 10 (Feb. 2002) - present
Nursing Outlook Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 45 (1997) - present
Nursing Philosophy Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2000) - present
Nursing Research Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 45 (1996) - present
Nursing Science Quarterly Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 12 (1999) - present
Nursing Standard Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 9, no. 15 (Jan. 4-10, 1995) - present
Oncology Nursing Forum Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 29 (2002) - present
Online Journal of Issues in Nursing Free online  
ONS News Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 15 (2000) - present
Open Nursing Journal, The Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2007) - present
Orthopaedic Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 19 (2000) - vol. 26, no. 4 (Jul./Aug. 2007)
Ostomy/Wound Management Free online Full text: Vol. 47, no. 11 (Nov. 2001) - present
Outcomes Management Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 6 (2002) - vol. 8, no. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 2004)
Outcomes Management for Nursing Practice Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1997) - vol. 5 (2001)
Paediatric Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 14 (2002) - present
Pediatric Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 25 (1999) - present
Perspectives in Psychiatric Care Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 39, no. 3 (Jul. 2003) - present
Plastic Surgical Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 21 (2001) - present
Policy, Politics, & Nursing Practice Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2000) - present
Professional Case Management Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 12 (2007) - present
Public Health Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 16 (1999) - present
RCM Midwives Free online Full text: Vol. 5 (2002) up to twelve months ago
Reflections on Nursing Leadership Free online Full text: Vol. 31, no. 3 (3rd Quarter 2005) - present
Research in Nursing & Health Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 20 (1997) - present
RevolutioN: The Journal for RNs & Patient Advocacy Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 3, no. 6 (Nov./Dec. 2002) - present
Seminars in Oncology Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 11 (1995) - present
Urologic Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 21, no. 2 (Apr. 2001) - present
Western Journal of Nursing Research Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 21 (1999) - present

Top of page

Online Textbooks

TitleAccess Level
2009 Lippincott's Nursing Drug Guide (2009 ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Cardiac Nursing (5th (2005) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Career Success Strategies for Nurse Educators (1st (2006) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Clinical Guide: Skin and Wound Care: Skin & Wound Care (6th (2008) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Davis's Comprehensive Handbook of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests - With Nursing Implications (2nd (2006) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses (11th (2009) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Delmar's Fundamental & Advanced Nursing Skills Handbook (1st (2004) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Delmar's Fundamental & Advanced Nursing Skills (2nd (2004) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Health Assessment & Physical Examination (3rd (2006) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Holistic Nursing (4th (2005) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice, The (9th (2010) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Manual of I.V. Therapeutics (4th (2005) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
New Leadership Challenge: Creating the Future of Nursing, The (2nd (2005) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Nursing Care Plans (7th (2006) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Nursing Theories & Nursing Practice (2nd (2006) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Patient Safety and Quality: An Evidence-Based Handbook for Nurses (2008 ed.) Free online
Plumer's Principles & Practice of Intravenous Therapy (8th (2007) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Quantum Leadership: A Textbook of New Leadership (1st (2002) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Transcultural Communication in Nursing (2nd (2005) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Wound Management Manual, The (1st (2005) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users

Top of page

Database Resources

Title Description Access Level
Books@Ovid Includes full text, references, updates, and graphics from some of the most respected sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology. Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
CINAHL CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health) provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health. More than 1600 journals are regularly indexed. Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Nursing & Allied Health Collection: Comprehensive This EBSCOhost database provides full text for nearly 400 journals covering the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines. Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Nursing Research From AHRQ, the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. Free online
R2 Library Access over 100 electronic textbooks in medicine, nursing and allied health. Users can save, organize, and export over 68,000 images from all available R2 Library resources. The My Images feature gives users easy access to often-used images. Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library Offers free online access to reliable nursing research and evidence-based knowledge. Free online

Top of page

Other Internet Sites Related to Nursing

Title Description
American Academy of Nurse Practitioners Formed in 1985, AANP was the first national organization created for nurse practitioners of all specialties.
American Association for the History of Nursing  
American Association of Colleges of Nursing  
American Association of Nurse Anesthetists  
American Nurses Association  
American Psychiatric Nurses Association  
Association of Women's Health, Obstetrics, and Neonatal Nurses  
Center for the Study of the History of Nursing  
National Institute of Nursing Research  
National League for Nursing  
Nursing Theory Page  
NursingNet  
Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing  
UMass Graduate School of Nursing  
Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nurses Society  

Top of page

Search QUIN for "Nursing"