home > research tools & resources > resources by subject > subject guide for medicine
 

Find Resources by Subject: Medicine

Online Journals | Online Textbooks | Database Resources | Other Internet Sites

Online Journals

TitleAccess LevelFull text
ACIMED Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (1993) - present
ACP Journal Club Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 126 (1997) - present
Acta Clinica Croatica Free online Full text: Vol. 39 (2000) - present
Acta Medica (Hradec Králové) Free online Full text: Vol. 40 (1997) - present
Acta Medica Nagasakiensia Free online Full text: Vol. 49 (2004) - present
Acta Medica Okayama Free online Full text: Vol. 53 (1999) - present
Advance for Medical Laboratory Professionals Free online Full text: 1995 - present
African Health Sciences Free online Full text: Vol. 5 (2005) - present
African Journal of Biomedical Research Free online Full text: Vol. 5 (2002) - present
American Clinical Laboratory Free online Full text: 1999 - 2002
American Family Physician Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 57 (1998) - present
American Journal of Medicine Supplements, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 117, no. 3 (Aug. 2004) - present
American Journal of Medicine, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 98 (1995) - present
Anatolian Journal of Clinical Investigation, The Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2007) - present
Annals of African Medicine Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2002) - present
Annals of Biomedical Research and Education Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2001) - present
Annals of Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 21 (1989) - present
Annual Review of Biomedical Sciences Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (1999) - present
Annual Review of Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1950) - present
Archives of Iranian Medicine Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (1998) - present
Archives of Medical Research Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 30 (1999) - present
Archives of Medical Science Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2005) - present
Army Medical Department Journal, The Free online Full text: 1998 - present
Ascribe Newswire: Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: April 2004 - present
Bandolier Free online Full text: No. 1 (Feb. 1994) - present
Biomedical Frontiers Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (Fall 1993) - present
Biomedical Research (Tokyo, Japan) Free online Full text: Vol. 25 (2004) - present
Biomedicine & Pharmacotherapy Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 49 (1995) - present
BMC Medical Research Methodology Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2001) - present
BMC Medicine Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2003) - present
BMC News and Views Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2000) - present
BMC Research Notes Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2008) - present
BMJ, British Medical Journal Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 308 (1994) - present
Brazilian Journal of Medical and Biological Research Free online Full text: Vol. 30 (1997) - present
British Columbia Medical Journal Free online Full text: Vol. 42 (2000) - present
British Medical Bulletin Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 52 (1996) - present
British Medical Journal Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (1857) - vol. 281 (1980)
British Medical Journal (Clinical Research Ed.) Free online Full text: Vol. 282 (1981) - vol. 295 (1987)
Bulletin of Experimental Biology and Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 123 (1997) - present
Calicut Medical Journal Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2003) - present
Canadian Journal of Rural Medicine Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (1996) - present
Cases Journal Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2008) - present
Central European Journal of Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2006) - present
Ceylon Medical Journal, The Free online Full text: Vol. 43, no. 4 (2000) - present
Chinese Medical Journal (Engl) Free online Full text: Vol. 113 (2000) - present
Chinese Medical Journal (Taipei) Free online Full text: Vol. 59 (1997) - present
Chinese Medical Sciences Journal Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 14 (1999) up to one year ago.
Cleveland Clinic Journal of Medicine Free online Full text: May 2001 - present
Clinical and Experimental Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2001) - present
Clinical and Investigative Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 20 (1997) - present
Clinical and Translational Science Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2008) - present
Clinical Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2001) - present
Clinical Medicine & Health Research NetPrints™ Free online Full text: Before May 2005
Clinical Medicine & Research Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2003) - present
Clinical Science Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 94, no. 5 (May 1998) - present
CMAJ (Canadian Medical Association Journal) Free online Full text: Vol. 156 (1997) - present
Cochrane Newsletters Free online Full text: No. 18 (Jun. 2000) - present
Computer Methods and Programs in Biomedicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 46 (1995) - present
Computers and Biomedical Research Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 26 (1993) - vol. 33 (2000)
Consultant Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 29 (1989) - present
Consumer Reports Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 53 (1988) - present (text only)
Contemporary Clinical Trials Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 26 (2005) - present
Croatian Medical Journal Free online Full text: Vol. 47 (2006) - present
Danish Medical Bulletin Free online Full text: Vol. 51 (2004) - present
Deutsches Ärzteblatt International Free online Full text: Vol. 105 (2008) - present
Disease Management Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 3, no. 2 (2000) - vol. 11, no. 3 (Jun. 2008)
Disease Management & Health Outcomes Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 3 (1998) - present
Disease Models & Mechanisms Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2008) - present
Disease-a-Month Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 41 (1995) - present
Doctor Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: August 2003 - present
Dynamic Medicine Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2002) - present
Dyslexia (Chichester, England) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 3 (1997) - present
Eastern Journal of Medicine Free online Full text: Vol. 3 (1998) - present
Eastern Mediterranean Health Journal Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (1995) - present
Electronic Journal of Biomedicine Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2003) - present
European Journal of Clinical Investigation Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 27, no. 2 (Feb. 1997) - present
Evidence-based Healthcare Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1997) - vol. 8, no. 4 (Aug. 2004)
Evidence-Based Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 5 (2000) - present
Experimental Biology and Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 222, no. 1 (Oct. 1999) - present
Facta Universitatis: Series Medicine and Biology Free online Full text: Vol. 4 (1997) - present
Free Radical Biology and Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 18 (1995) - present
German Medical Science Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2003) - present
Harvard Health Letter Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 15, no. 12 (Oct. 1990) - present
Health and Science Bulletin Free online Full text: Vol.1 (2002) - present
Herpes: The Journal of the IHMF Free online Full text: Vol. 6 - present
High Altitude Medicine & Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2000) - present
Hong Kong Medical Journal Free online Full text: Vol. 3 (1997) - present
Hospital Physician Free online Full text: Vol. 35 (1999) - present
IHS Primary Care Provider, The Free online Full text: Vol. 19, no. 12 (Dec. 1994) - present
Indian Journal of Medical Research Free online Full text: Vol. 117 (2003) - present
Indian Journal of Medical Sciences Free online Full text: Vol. 57, no. 7 (2003) - present
Integrative Medicine Insights Free online Full text: 2006 - present
International Archives of Medicine Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2008) - present
International Journal of Clinical & Laboratory Research Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 28 (1998) - vol. 30 (2000)
International Journal of Clinical Practice Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 58 (2004) - present
International Journal of Medical Sciences Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2004) - present
Irish Medical Journal Free online Full text: Vol. 90, no. 2 (Mar. 1997) - present
Israel Medical Association Journal: IMAJ Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (1999) - present
JAMA (The Journal of the American Medical Association) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. I (1883) - present
JK Practitioner: International Journal of Current Medical Science & Practice Free online Full text: Vol. 8 (2001) - present
JK Science: Journal of Medical Education and Research Free online Full text: Vol. 6 (2004) - present
Journal of American Physicians and Surgeons Free online Full text: Vol. 8 (2003) - present
Journal of Applied Biomedicine Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2003) - present
Journal of Ayub Medical College Free online Full text: Vol. 14 (2002) - present
Journal of Biomedical Discovery and Collaboration Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2006) - present
Journal of Biomedical Science Free online Full text: Vol. 16 (2009) - present
Journal of Biomedicine & Biotechnology Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2001) - present
Journal of Clinical Investigation, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1924) - present
Journal of Clinical Laser Medicine & Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 18, no. 4 (Aug. 2000) - vol. 22, no. 2 (Apr. 2004)
Journal of Clinical Monitoring and Computing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 13 (1997) - present
Journal of ECT, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 16 (2000) - vol. 19 (2003)
Journal of Ethnobiology and Ethnomedicine Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2005) - present
Journal of Experimental Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1896) - present
Journal of Hospital Medicine Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2006) - present
Journal of Infectious Diseases, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 175, no. 4 (Apr. 1997) - present
Journal of Internal Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 239 (1996) - present
Journal of International Medical Research, The Free online Full text: Vol. 28 (2000) - present
Journal of Korean Medical Science Free online Full text: Vol. 11 (1996) - present
Journal of Laboratory and Clinical Medicine, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 127 (1996) - vol. 147, no. 6 (Jun. 2006)
Journal of Law, Medicine & Ethics, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 25 (1997) - present
Journal of Medical and Biological Sciences Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2007) - present
Journal of Medical Case Reports Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2007) - present
Journal of Medical Investigation, The Free online Full text: Vol. 44 (1997) - present
Journal of Medical Sciences Free online Full text: Vol. 5 (2005) - present
Journal of Medical Sciences Research Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2007) - present
Journal of Medicinal Food Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 3, no. 2 (Jun. 2000) - present
Journal of Motor Behavior Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 28, no. 2 (Jun. 1996) - present
Journal of Negative Results in Biomedicine Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2002) - present
Journal of Nippon Medical School Free online Full text: Vol. 66 (1999) - present
Journal of Nursing Research, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 10, no. 4 (Dec. 2002) - present
Journal of Postgraduate Medicine Free online Full text: Vol. 35 (1989) - present
Journal of Research in Medical Sciences Free online Full text: Vol. 9 (2004) - present
Journal of the Association of Physicians of India, The Free online Full text: Vol. 51 (Feb. 2003) - present
Journal of the Gay and Lesbian Medical Association Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 2, no. 3 (Sep. 1998) - vol. 6 (2002)
Journal of the Indian Medical Association Free online Full text: 2002 - present
Journal of the National Medical Association Free online Full text: Vol. 100 (2008) - present
Journal of the Royal College of Physicians of London Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 34 (2000)
Journal of the Royal Society of Medicine Free online Full text: Vol. 78 (1985) up to three years ago (non-research content)
Journal of Theoretical Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 4 (2002) - vol. 6 (2005)
Journal of Urban Health Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 83 (2006) - present
Kathmandu University Medical Journal Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2003) - present
Kobe Journal of Medical Sciences Free online Full text: Vol. 47 (2001) - present
Lab Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 31 (2000) - present
Lancet, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 345, Issue 8941 (Jan. 7, 1995) - present
Lasers in Surgery and Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 18 (1996) - present
Malaysian Journal of Medical Sciences, The Free online Full text: Vol. 9 (2002) - present
Malta Medical Journal Free online Full text: Vol. 14 (2002) - present
Mathematical Medicine and Biology: A Journal of the IMA Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 13 (1996) - present
Mayo Clinic Proceedings Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 70 (1995) - present
McGill Journal of Medicine Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (1995) - present
MedGenMed (Medscape General Medicine) Free online Full text: Vol. 6 (2004) - present
Medical Clinics of North America, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 80 (1996) - present
Medical Hypotheses Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 40 (1993) - present
Medical Journal of Australia, The Free online Full text: Vol. 164 (1996) up to the current calendar year
Medical Journal of Trakya University Free online Full text: Vol. 19 (2002) - present
Medical Meetings Free online Full text: July 1996 - present
Medical Science Monitor Free online Full text: Latest three years
Medicina (Kaunas, Lithuania) Free online Full text: Vol. 38 (2002) - present
Medicina Clinica Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 116 (2001) up to six months ago
Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 74 (1995) - present
Medizinische Klinik (Munich, Germany: 1983) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 95, no. 3 (Mar. 2000) - present
Minnesota Medicine Free online Full text: Vol. 81 (1998) - present
Modern Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 62 (1994) - vol. 68, no. 3 (Mar. 2000)
Modern Physician Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 3, no. 2 (Feb. 1999) - present
Mount Sinai Journal of Medicine, The Free online Full text: Vol. 66 (1999) - present
Nature Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 4, no. 7 (Jul. 1998) - present
New England Journal of Medicine, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 328 (1993) - present
New Zealand Medical Journal, The Full text: Vol. 115, no. 1155 (Jun. 7, 2002) - present
Newsweek Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 124, no. 24 (Dec. 12, 1994) - present
NIH MedlinePlus Magazine Free online Full text: 2006 - present
North Carolina Medical Journal Free online Full text: Vol. 63 (2002) - present
Online Journal of Health and Allied Sciences Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2002) - present
Ontario Medical Review Free online Full text: Vol. 73 (2006) - present
Open Medicine Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2007) - present
Patient Care Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 17 (1983) - present
Perspectives in Biology and Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 40, no. 2 (Winter 1997) - present
Physician Assistant Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 25, no. 4 (Apr. 2001) - vol. 27, no. 9 (Sep. 2003)
PLoS Medicine Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2004) - present
PLoS ONE Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2006) - present
Population Health Management Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 11, no. 4 (Aug. 2008) - present
Postgraduate Medical Journal Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 75 (1999) - present
Postgraduate Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 109 (2001) - vol. 113, no. 4 (Apr. 2003)
Primary Care: Clinics in Office Practice Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 23 (1996) - present
Proceedings (Baylor University. Medical Center) Free online Full text: Vol. 13 (2000) - present
QJM: An International Journal of Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 89 (1996) - present
Research in Experimental Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 197 (1997) - vol. 200, no. 3 (Mar. 2001)
Research Journal of Medical Sciences Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2007) - present
Research Journal of Medicine and Medical Sciences Free online Full text: Vol. 1, no. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 2006) - present
Resident & Staff Physician® Free online Full text: May 2004 - April 2008
Revista Clinica Española Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 201 (2001) up to six months ago
Revista Cubana de Medicina General Integral Free online Full text: Vol. 11, no. 2 (1995) - present
Revista da Associação Médica Brasileira Free online Full text: Vol. 43 (1997) - present
Revista de Investigación Clínica Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 50 (1998) - present
Revista do Hospital das Clínicas Free online Full text: Vol. 54 (1999) - present
Revista Médica de Chile Free online Full text: Vol. 127, no. 8 (Aug. 1999) - present
São Paulo Medical Journal Free online Full text: Vol. 116, no. 2 (1998) - present
Scandinavian Journal of Caring Sciences Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 15 (2001) - present
Scottish Medical Journal Free online Full text: 2002 - present
Scripta Medica Free online Full text: Vol. 73 (2000) - present
Singapore Medical Journal Free online Full text: Vol. 38 (1997) - present
Solapur Medical Journal Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2004) - present
Southern Medical Journal Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 94, no. 6 (Jun. 2001) - vol. 100, no. 7 (Jul. 2007)
Student BMJ Free online Full text: Vol. 7 (1999) - present
Studies on Ethno-Medicine Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2007) - present
Swiss Medical Weekly Free online Full text: 1999 - present
Synapse (Portland, Me.) Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2004) - present
Teaching and Learning in Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 9, no. 4 (1997) - present
Time Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 121 (1983) - present
Timisoara Medical Journal Free online Full text: Vol. 5 (2002) - present
Tohoku Journal of Experimental Medicine, The Free online Full text: Vol. 186, no. 2 (1999) - present
Translational Research Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 148 (Jul. 2006) - present
Turkish Journal of Medical Sciences Free online Full text: Vol. 28 (1998) - present
U.S. News & World Report Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 95 (1984) - present
Ulster Medical Journal, The Free online Full text: Vol. 71 (2002) - present
University of California, Berkeley Wellness Letter, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 5, no. 4 (Jan. 1989) - vol. 11, no. 5 (Feb. 1995)
Upsala Journal of Medical Sciences Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 105 (2000) up to one year ago
Western Journal of Medicine Free online Full text: Vol. 120 (1974) - vol. 176, no. 4 (Sep. 2002)
Wiener Klinische Wochenschrift Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 116, nos. 17-18 (Sep. 2004) - present
Wiener Medizinische Wochenschrift (1946) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 153, nos. 15-16 (Aug. 2003) - present
WMJ: Wisconsin Medical Journal Free online Full text: Vol. 98, no. 2 (Mar./Apr. 1999) - present
Worcester Medicine Free online Full text: Winter 2003 - present
World Journal of Medical Sciences Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2006) - present
World Medical Journal Free online Full text: Vol. 50 (2004) - present
Yonago Acta Medica Free online Full text: Vol. 39, no. 2 (Jul. 1996) - present
Yonsei Medical Journal Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (1960) - present

Top of page

Online Textbooks

TitleAccess Level
5-Minute Clinical Consult 2010, The (18th (2009) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
ACP Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Adam.com Encyclopedia (2008 ed.) Free online
Anomalies and Curiosities of Medicine (1896 ed.) Free online
Cecil Medicine (23rd (2007) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Comprehensive Medical Terminology (2nd (2003) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Current Consult Medicine, 2006 (2006 ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Current Practice Guidelines in Primary Care (1st (2006) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination (9th (2009) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Medical Essays, 1842-1882 (1842-1882 ed.) Free online
Medical Interview, The (5th (2006) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, The (18th (2006) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Osler Medical Handbook, The (2nd (2006) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Primary Care Medicine: Office Evaluation and Management of the Adult Patient (6th (2009) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Review of Natural Products, The (2009 ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Stedman's Medical Dictionary (28th (2006) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Syndromes: Rapid Recognition and Perioperative Implications (1st (2006) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Textbook of Primary Care Medicine (3rd (2001) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Washington Manual™ of Medical Therapeutics, The (31st (2004) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users

Top of page

Database Resources

Title Description Access Level
ACP Medicine From the American College of Physicians, ACP Medicine is a comprehensive internal medicine reference source for evidence-based medicine and appropriate practice guidelines. Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
African Index Medicus Produced by the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA) with the technical support of the World Health Organization. Free online
Annual Orations of the Worcester District Medical Society A list of distinguished orators from 1795-present with a brief synopsis of each oration (if available). Free online
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials CCRCT is a database of definitive clinical trials identified by the Cochrane Collaboration. Only randomized control trials and/or controlled clinical trials are included. Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews Articles focus on randomized control trials, controlled clinical trials, products of evidence-based review by ACP Journal Club or National Health Services. Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects Abstracts of non-Cochrane systematic reviews. Part of Ovid's Evidence Based Medicine Reviews Collection. Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
DynaMed A clinical reference tool created by a physician for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the point-of-care. Updated daily. Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Hardin MD Medical Pictures / Disease Pictures Links to free pictures, organized by disease, from the Hardin Library for the Health Sciences, University of Iowa. Free online
Health on the Net Foundation Media Gallery A repository of over 6800 medical images and videos, organized by MeSH categories and terms. Images can be used freely as long as a copyright notice and link to the website are provided. Free online
images.MD Online encyclopedia of over 50,000 medical images. UMMS users can also register to create their own image libraries. Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
IMEMR, Index Medicus for the Eastern Mediterranean Region Provides access to health literature published in or related to the Eastern Mediterranean Region. Produced by the Eastern Mediterranean Region Library Network (EMLIBNET). Free online
IndMED Bibliographic database covering prominent peer-reviewed Indian biomedical journals. Free online
LILACS, Latin American and Caribbean Health Science Published since 1982. Registers the health scientific-technical literature published by Latin American and Caribbean authors. Free online
MD Consult MD Consult includes a number of electronic information resources (reference books, journals, practice guidelines, etc.) that meet the clinical content needs of physicians and other health care professionals. Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Medical Glossary.org   Free online
MEDLINE® (Ovid) Ovid's interface to the MEDLINE database provides access to bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4600 biomedical journals published in the United States and in 70 other countries. Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
MedPix™ Provided by the Departments of Radiology and Biomedical Informatics, Uniformed Services University, Bethesda, MD. All public content is peer-reviewed. Some content is copyrighted and may not be copied or distributed without the author's permission. Free online
MedTerms Medical Dictionary   Free online
National Guideline Clearinghouse A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines, the National Guideline Clearinghouse is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Free online
NCMETV™ NCMETV™ is a web-based interface for the CME videos and DVDs to which the library has subscribed for years. Registration for a personal account is required; contact the library at 508-856-6099 to obtain the necessary information. Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
R2 Library Access over 100 electronic textbooks in medicine, nursing and allied health. Users can save, organize, and export over 68,000 images from all available R2 Library resources. The My Images feature gives users easy access to often-used images. Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Taber's Medical Encyclopedia   Free online
Turning Research Into Practice (TRIP)   Free online
UpToDate UpToDate is a comprehensive clinical information resource specifically designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice. On-campus access only. Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users

Top of page

Other Internet Sites Related to Medicine

Title Description
American College of Physicians-American Society of Internal Medicine (ACP-ASIM)  
American Medical Association  
Hospitalist  
Interactive Patient  
Massachusetts Medical Society  
Massachusetts Physician Profiles  

Top of page

Search QUIN for "Medicine"