home > research tools & resources > resources by subject > subject guide for health literacy
 

Find Resources by Subject: Health Literacy

Online Journals | Online Textbooks | Database Resources | Other Internet Sites

Online Journals

TitleAccess LevelFull text
Health Education Research Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 11 (1996) - present
Journal of General Internal Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 12 (1997) - present
Patient Education and Counseling Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 25 (1995) - present

Top of page

Online Textbooks

TitleAccess Level
Clear & Simple: Developing Effective Print Materials for Low-Literate Readers (2003 ed.) Free online
Health Literacy of America's Adults: Results from the 2003 National Assessment of Adult Literacy (2006 ed.) Free online
Health Literacy: A Prescription to End Confusion (2004 ed.) Free online
Informing the Future: Critical Issues in Health (4th (2007) ed.) Free online
Literacy and Health in America (2004 ed.) Free online
Literacy and Health Outcomes (2004 ed.) Free online

Top of page

Database Resources

Title Description Access Level
Health Communication Activities Collection of resources for understanding patients' use of electronic health information and improving health literacy. Published by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion. Free online
National Assessment of Adult Literacy (NAAL): Health Literacy Comprehensive report of English literacy among American adults age 16 and older. Publications and data files are also available. Published by the National Center for Education Statistics. Free online
PlainLanguage.gov Comprehensive resource from the Federal Government that includes background on health literacy as well as guidelines and other resources to aid in producing materials readers can understand. Free online

Top of page

Other Internet Sites Related to Health Literacy

Title Description
Understanding Health Literacy and its Barriers: Current Bibliographies in Medicine 2004-1 Extensive bibliography of publications on health literacy from January 1998 through November 2003. Includes links to abstracts in PubMed where applicable.

Top of page

Search QUIN for "Literacy"