home > research tools & resources > resources by subject > subject guide for general surgery
 

Find Resources by Subject: General Surgery

Online Journals | Online Textbooks | Database Resources | Other Internet Sites

Online Journals

TitleAccess LevelFull text
Acta Chirurgica Austriaca Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 29 (1997) - vol. 33 (2001)
Aesthetic Plastic Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 21 (1997) - present
American Journal of Surgery, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 169 (1995) - present
American Journal of Surgical Pathology, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 20 (1996) - present
American Surgeon, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 61 (1995) - present
Annals of Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 223 (1996) - present
Annals of Surgical Innovation and Research Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2007) - present
Annals of Surgical Oncology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 4 (1997) - present
Annals of the College of Surgeons of Hong Kong Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 3 (1999) - vol. 8 (2004)
Annals of The Royal College of Surgeons of England Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (1947) up to twelve months ago
Annals of Thoracic Surgery, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 59 (1995) - present
Annals of Vascular Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 9 (1995) - present
ANZ Journal of Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 67 (1997) - present
Archives of Facial Plastic Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1999) - present
Archives of Orthopaedic and Trauma Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1903) - present
Archives of Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 133 (1998) - present
BMC Surgery Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2001) - present
Brazilian Journal of Cardiovascular Surgery Free online Full text: Vol. 19 (2004) - present
British Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 31 (1993) - present
British Journal of Plastic Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 46 (1993) - vol. 58 (2005)
British Journal of Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 85 (1998) - present
British Journal of Surgery. Supplement Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 84 (1997) - present
Bulletin of the American College of Surgeons Free online Full text: Vol. 86 (2001) - present
Canadian Journal of Surgery Free online Full text: Vol. 43 (2000) - present
Cardiovascular Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 3 (1995) - vol. 11 (2003)
Chirurg, Der Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 68 (1997) - present
Cleft Palate Journal, The Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (1964) - vol. 26 (1989)
Cleft Palate-Craniofacial Journal, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 27 (1990) - present
Clinical Oral Implants Research Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 8 (1997) - present
Coloproctology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 22 (2000) - present
Computer Aided Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 2 (1997) - vol. 7 (2002)
Contemporary Surgery Free online Full text: Vol. 58 (2002) - present
Cosmetic Surgery Times Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 5, no. 8 (Sep. 2001) - present
Current Problems in Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 32 (1995) - present
Dermatologic Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 25 (1999) - present
East and Central African Journal of Surgery Free online Full text: Vol. 4, no. 2 (1999) - present
EJVES Extra Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2001) - present
European Journal of Cardio-Thoracic Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 9 (1995) - present
European Journal of Orthopaedic Surgery & Traumatology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 12 (2002) - present
European Journal of Plastic Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 21, no. 2 (Feb. 1998) - present
European Journal of Surgery, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 164 (1998) up to twelve months ago
European Journal of Surgical Oncology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 21 (1995) - present
European Journal of Trauma and Emergency Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 33 (2007) - present
European Journal of Vascular & Endovascular Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 9 (1995) - present
European Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 34 (2002) - present
European Surgical Research Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 30 (1998) - present
Foot & Ankle Journal, The Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2008) - present
Foot and Ankle Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 3 (1997) - vol. 8 (2002)
Fuß & Sprunggelenk Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2003) - present
Gefässchirurgie Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 2, no. 3 (Aug. 1997) - present
General Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 55 (2007) - present
Gynecological Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2004) - present
Hand Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2006) - present
Hand Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 4 (1999) up to one year ago
Head & Neck Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 18 (1996) - present
Hernia Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 5, no. 2 (Jul. 2001) - present
HNO Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 44, no. 9 (Sep. 1996) - present
HPB Surgery Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (1988) - present
HSS Journal Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2005) - present
Indian Journal of Otolaryngology and Head and Neck Surgery Free online Full text: Vol. 57 (2005) - present
Indian Journal of Plastic Surgery Free online Full text: Vol. 34, no. 2 (Jul.-Dec. 2001) - present
Indian Journal of Surgery Free online Full text: Vol. 65, no. 2 (Mar.-Apr. 2003) - present
Indian Journal of Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery Free online Full text: Vol. 19 (2003) - present
Interactive Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2002) - present
International Endodontic Journal Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 30 (1997) - present
International Journal of Computer Assisted Radiology and Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2006) - present
International Journal of Cosmetic Surgery and Aesthetic Dermatology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 2 (2000) - vol. 4 (2002)
International Journal of Shoulder Surgery Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2007) - present
International Journal of Surgical Pathology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 8, no. 3 (Jul. 2000) - present
International Seminars in Surgical Oncology Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2004) - present
Internet Journal of Hand Surgery, The Free online Full text: Vol. 1 - present
Internet Journal of Head and Neck Surgery, The Free online Full text: Vol. 1 - present
Journal of American Physicians and Surgeons Free online Full text: Vol. 8 (2003) - present
Journal of Bone & Joint Surgery (American Volume), The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 75-A(1) (1993) - present
Journal of Bone & Joint Surgery (British Volume), The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 77-B(1) (1995) - present
Journal of Burns and Wounds Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2002) - present
Journal of Cardiac Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 12 (1997) - present
Journal of Cardiothoracic Surgery Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2006) - present
Journal of Cardiovascular Surgery, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 44 (2003) - present
Journal of Clinical Laser Medicine & Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 18, no. 4 (Aug. 2000) - vol. 22, no. 2 (Apr. 2004)
Journal of Cranio-Maxillofacial Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 21 (1993) - present
Journal of Craniofacial Surgery, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 12 (2001) - present
Journal of Cutaneous Medicine and Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 5 (2001) - vol. 9 (2005)
Journal of Endovascular Therapy Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1994) - present
Journal of Gastrointestinal Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1997) - present
Journal of Gynecologic Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 16, no. 4 (Winter 2000) - present
Journal of Hand Surgery, The (American Volume) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 20 (1995) - present
Journal of Hand Surgery, The (British & European Volume) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 18 (1993) - vol. 32, no. 2 (Apr. 2007)
Journal of Hand Surgery, The (European Volume) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 32 (2007) - present
Journal of Hepato-Biliary-Pancreatic Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 5 (1998) - present
Journal of Indian Association of Pediatric Surgeons Free online Full text: Vol. 7, no. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 2002) - present
Journal of Investigative Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 12 (1999) up to twelve months ago
Journal of Laparoendoscopic & Advanced Surgical Techniques. Part A Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 10, no. 4 (Aug. 2000) - present
Journal of Minimal Access Surgery Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2005) - present
Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 53 (1995) - present
Journal of Orthopaedic Surgery and Research Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2006) - present
Journal of Pediatric Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 30 (1995) - present
Journal of Plastic, Reconstructive & Aesthetic Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 59 (2006) - present
Journal of Radiosurgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1998) - vol. 3 (2000)
Journal of Robotic Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2007) - present
Journal of Surgical Oncology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 61 (1996) - present
Journal of Surgical Research Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 54 (1993) - present
Journal of the American College of Surgeons Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 185 (Jul. 1997) - present
Journal of the American Society for Surgery of the Hand Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2001) - vol. 5 (2005)
Journal of the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh Free online Full text: Vol. 42, no. 6 (Dec. 1997) - vol. 47 (2002)
Journal of Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 109 (1995) - present
Journal of Vascular Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 21 (1995) - present
JSLS: Journal of the Society of Laparoendoscopic Surgeons Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (1997) up to three months ago
Langenbeck's Archives of Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 382 (1997) - present
Lasers in Surgery and Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 18 (1996) - present
Médecine et Chirurgie du Pied Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 20 (2004) - present
MEDSURG Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 8 (1999) - present
Microsurgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 17 (1996) - present
Minimally Invasive Therapy & Allied Technologies Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 10 (2001) up to twelve months ago
New England Journal of Medicine, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 328 (1993) - present
Obesity Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 17 (2007) - present
Open Journal of Cardiovascular Surgery Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2008) - present
Operative Techniques in General Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 8 (2006) - present
Otolaryngology--Head and Neck Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 112 (1995) - present
Patient Safety in Surgery Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2007) - present
Pediatric Endosurgery & Innovative Techniques Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 4, no. 3 (Sep. 2000) - vol. 8 (2004)
Pediatric Surgery International Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 13, no. 1 (Dec. 1997) - present
Photomedicine and Laser Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 22, no. 3 (Jun. 2004) - present
Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery® Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 97 (1996) - present
Plastic Surgical Nursing Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 21 (2001) - present
Revista do Colégio Brasileiro de Cirurgiões Free online Full text: Vol. 32 (2005) - present
Romanian Journal of Hand and Reconstructive Microsurgery Free online Full text: Vol. 3 (1998) - present
Scandinavian Cardiovascular Journal Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 32 (1998) up to twelve months ago
Scandinavian Journal of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery and Hand Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 32 (1998) up to twelve months ago
Seminars in Cutaneous Medicine and Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 22, no. 3 (Sep. 2003) - present
Seminars in Pediatric Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 12 (2003) - present
Seminars in Surgical Oncology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 13 (1997) - vol. 21 (2003)
Seminars in Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 15 (2003) - present
Skull Base Free online Full text: Vol. 13 (2003) - present
Southern Medical Journal Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 94, no. 6 (Jun. 2001) - vol. 100, no. 7 (Jul. 2007)
Surgeon, The Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2003) - present
Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 117 (1995) - present
Surgery Today Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 27 (1997) - present
Surgical and Radiologic Anatomy Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 19 (1997) - present
Surgical Clinics of North America, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 76 (1996) - present
Surgical Endoscopy Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 11 (1997) - present
Surgical Infections Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2000) - present
Surgical Oncology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 6 (1997) - present
Surgical Practice Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 9 (2005) - present
Techniques in Coloproctology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 3 (1999) - present
Thoracic Surgical Science Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2004) - present
Transactions of the ... Meeting of the American Surgical Association Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 121 (2003) - present
Transactions of the Southern Surgical Association Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 115 (2003) - present
Vascular and Endovascular Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 36 (2002) up to six months ago
Vascular Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 34, no. 4 (Jul./Aug. 2000) - present
Veterinary Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 26 (1997) - present
World Journal of Emergency Surgery Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2006) - present
World Journal of Surgery Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 20 (1996) - present
World Journal of Surgical Oncology Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2003) - present
Zeitschrift für Herz-, Thorax- und Gefäßchirurgie Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 12 (1998) - present

Top of page

Online Textbooks

TitleAccess Level
ACS Surgery: Principles & Practice (2008 ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Appendicitis: The Etiology, Hygenic and Dietetic Treatment Free online
Current Essentials of Surgery (1st (2005) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Current Surgical Diagnosis & Treatment (12th (2006) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Genetics for Surgeons (2005 ed.) Free online
Greenfield's Surgery: Scientific Principles and Practice (4th (2006) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Operative Surgery Manual (1st (2003) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Otolaryngology: Head and Neck Surgery (4th (2005) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Perioperative Medicine (1st (2006) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Sabiston Textbook of Surgery (18th (2008) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Schwartz's Principles of Surgery (8th (2005) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Trauma (5th (2004) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Washington Manual of Surgery, The (4th (2005) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
Wound Management Manual, The (1st (2005) ed.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users

Top of page

Database Resources

Title Description Access Level
American College of Surgeons - Member Search Lists surgeons who are members of the American College of Surgeons. Search by geographical area or by specialty. Free online

Top of page

Other Internet Sites Related to General Surgery

Title Description
American Association of Orthopaedic Surgeons  
American Cleft Palate-Craniofacial Association (ACPA)  
American College of Surgeons  
American Society for Surgery of the Hand  
American Society of Ophthalmic Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (ASOPRS)  
Plastic Surgery Information Service  

Top of page

Search QUIN for "General Surgery"