home > research tools & resources > resources by subject > subject guide for biology
 

Find Resources by Subject: Biology

Online Journals | Online Textbooks | Database Resources

Online Journals

TitleAccess LevelFull text
Acarology Bulletin Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (1996) - present
ACS Chemical Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2006) - present
Acta Biotheoretica Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 45 (1997) - present
Acta Neurobiologiae Experimentalis Free online Full text: Vol. 61 (2001) - present
Aerobiologia Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 15 (1999) - present
Agricultural and Forest Entomology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1999) - present
American Journal of Human Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 8 (1996) - present
American Journal of Primatology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 38 (1996) - present
American Naturalist, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1867) up to five years ago
American Zoologist Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1961) up to five years ago
Animal Conservation Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1998) - present
Annals of Applied Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 130 (1997) - present
Annals of Human Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 26 (1999) up to twelve months ago
Annual Review of Cell and Developmental Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1985) - present
Annual Review of Ecology and Systematics Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1970) up to five years ago
Annual Review of Entomology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1956) - present
Anzeiger für Schädlingskunde Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 74 (2001) - vol. 76, no. 4 (Aug. 2003)
Archives of Insect Biochemistry and Physiology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 31 (1996) - present
Artificial Life Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 3 (1997) - present
Astrobiology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2001) - present
Australian Journal of Entomology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 36 (1997) - present
BioControl Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 43 (1998) - present
BioData Mining Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2008) - present
Biodiversity and Conservation Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 6 (1997) - present
Biodiversity Informatics Free online Full text: 2004 - present
Bioinformatics Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 12 (1996) - present
Bioinformation Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2005) - present
Biointerphases Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2006) - present
Biologia Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 61 (2006) - present
Biological Bulletin, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 186, no. 3 (Jun. 1994) - present
Biological Control Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 3 (1993) - present
Biological Invasions Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1999) - present
Biological Journal of the Linnean Society Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 60 (1997) - present
Biological Procedures Online Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (1998) - present
Biological Research Free online Full text: Vol. 32, no. 4 (1999) - present
Biological Reviews of the Cambridge Philosophical Society Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 72 (1997) - present
Biologist Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 48 (2001) - present
Biology & Philosophy Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 12 (1997) - present
Biology Bulletin Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 27, no. 6 (Nov. 2000) - present
Biology Direct Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2006) - present
Biomedical Chromatography Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 11 (1997) - present
Biomedical Frontiers Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (Fall 1993) - present
Biomedicine & Pharmacotherapy Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 49 (1995) - present
Biomicrofluidics Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2007) - present
BioScience Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 42 (1992) - present
Bioscience Education Electronic Journal Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2003) - present
Biosemiotics Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2008) - present
Biota Neotropica Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2001) - present
BMC Biology Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2003) - present
BMC Evolutionary Biology Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2001) - present
BMC News and Views Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2000) - present
BMC Plant Biology Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2001) - present
BMC Research Notes Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2008) - present
Brain, Behavior and Evolution Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 51 (1998) - present
Brazilian Archives of Biology and Technology Free online Full text: Vol. 43, no. 5 (2000) - present
Brazilian Journal of Biology Free online Full text: Vol. 61, no. 4 (Nov. 2001) - present
Brazilian Journal of Medical and Biological Research Free online Full text: Vol. 30 (1997) - present
Briefings in Bioinformatics Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2000) - present
Bulletin of Experimental Biology and Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 123 (1997) - present
Bulletin of Mathematical Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1939) - present
Central European Journal of Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2006) - present
Chemistry & Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1994) - present
Cladistics Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 13 (1997) - present
Cold Spring Harbor Symposia on Quantitative Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 69 (2004) - present
Conservation Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 11 (1997) - present
Critical Reviews in Neurobiology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 17 (2005)
Current Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1991) - present
Current Opinion in Neurobiology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 5 (1995) - present
Database: The Journal of Biological Databases and Curation Free online Full text: Vol. 2009 - present
Development Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 99 (1987) - present
Development Genes and Evolution Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 206 (1996) - present
Developmental Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 155 (1993) - present
Developmental Cell Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2001) - present
Developmental Neurobiology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 67 (2007) - present
Diversity and Distributions Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 4, no. 2 (Mar. 1998) - present
Doklady Biological Sciences Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 375 (Nov. 2000) - present
Ecological Entomology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 22 (1997) - present
Egyptian Journal of Biology, The Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (1999) - present
Entomological Research Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 32 (2002) - present
Entomological Science Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 6 (2003) - present
Environmental Biology of Fishes Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 48 (1997) - present
EURASIP Journal on Bioinformatics and Systems Biology Free online Full text: Vol. 2006 - present
Evolution & Development Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1999) - present
Evolution: International Journal of Organic Evolution Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 54 (2000) - present
Evolutionary Bioinformatics Online Free online Full text: 2005 - present
Evolutionary Computation Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 4 (1996) up to one year ago
Evolutionary Ecology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 11 (1997) - present
Experimental and Applied Acarology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 21 (1997) - present
Experimental Biology and Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 222, no. 1 (Oct. 1999) - present
Experimental Biology Online Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1996) - vol. 6 (2001)
Extremophiles Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1997) - present
Facta Universitatis: Series Medicine and Biology Free online Full text: Vol. 4 (1997) - present
FASEB Journal, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1987) - present
Feddes Repertorium Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 113 (2002) - present
Folia Biologica Free online Full text: Vol. 46 (2000) - present
Free Radical Biology and Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 18 (1995) - present
Frontiers in Zoology Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2004) - present
Gene Regulation and Systems Biology Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2007) - present
Genetics, Selection, Evolution Older issues only are free online  
Global Change Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 3 (1997) - present
Global Ecology and Biogeography Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 7, no. 5 (Sep. 1998) - present
Growth Factors (Chur, Switzerland) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 20 (2002) up to twelve months ago
HFSP Journal: Frontiers of Interdisciplinary Research in the Life Sciences Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2007) up to six months ago
High Altitude Medicine & Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2000) - present
History and Philosophy of the Life Sciences Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 20, no. 3 (1998) up to one year ago
Human Evolution Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1986) - present
Hydrobiologia Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 342 (1997) - present
IEEE/ACM Transactions on Computational Biology and Bioinformatics Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2004) - present
IET Systems Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2007) - present
Insect Science Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 4 (1997) - present
Integrative & Comparative Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 36 (1996) - present
Integrative Zoology Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2006) - present
International Archives of Bioscience Free online Full text: 2001 - present
International Journal of Biological Sciences Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2005) - present
International Journal of Primatology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 18 (1997) - present
International Review of Hydrobiology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 85 (2000) - present
Invertebrate Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 119 (2000) - present
Invertebrate Survival Journal Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2004) - present
Journal of Applied Ecology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 35 (1998) - present
Journal of Applied Entomology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 123 (1999) - present
Journal of Avian Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 31 (2000) - present
Journal of Bioeconomics Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1999) - present
Journal of Biogeography Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 23 (1996) - present
Journal of Biological Research Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2004) - present
Journal of Biological Sciences Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2001) - present
Journal of Biology Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2002) - present
Journal of Biomedicine & Biotechnology Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2001) - present
Journal of Computer Science & Systems Biology Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2008) - present
Journal of Evolutionary Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1988) - present
Journal of Experimental Biology, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1923) - present
Journal of Experimental Zoology Part A: Comparative Experimental Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 295A (2003) - vol. 305A (2006)
Journal of Experimental Zoology Part A: Ecological Genetics and Physiology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 307A (2007) - present
Journal of Experimental Zoology Part B: Molecular and Developmental Evolution Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 295B (2003) - present
Journal of Experimental Zoology, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 277 (1997) - vol. 295A/1 (Jan. 2003)
Journal of Field Ornithology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 77 (2006) - present
Journal of Human Evolution Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 24 (1993) - present
Journal of Insect Behavior Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 10, no. 6 (Nov. 1997) - present
Journal of Insect Science Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2001) - present
Journal of Invertebrate Pathology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 61 (1993) - present
Journal of Mammalian Evolution Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 4 (1997) - present
Journal of Marine Biotechnology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 5 (1997) - vol. 6 (1998)
Journal of Mathematical Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 34, nos. 5-6 (May 1996) - present
Journal of Medical and Biological Sciences Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2007) - present
Journal of Medical Entomology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 37 (2000) - present
Journal of Medical Primatology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 29 (2000) - present
Journal of Neurobiology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 29 (1996) - vol. 66 (2006)
Journal of Pest Science Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 77 (2004) - present
Journal of Photochemistry and Photobiology B: Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 27 (1995) - present
Journal of the Acarological Society of Japan Free online Full text: Vol. 9 (2000) - present
Journal of the History of Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 30 (1997) - present
Journal of Theoretical Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 160 (1993) - present
Journal of Visualized Experiments Free online Full text: Issue 1 (Dec. 2006) - present
Lethaia Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1968) - present
Life Sciences Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1962) - present
Marine Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 127, no. 3 (Feb. 1997) - present
Marine Biotechnology (New York, N.Y.) Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1999) - present
Mathematical Medicine and Biology: A Journal of the IMA Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 13 (1996) - present
Medical and Veterinary Entomology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 13 (1999) - present
Molecular Phylogenetics and Evolution Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 2 (1993) - present
Mycorrhiza Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 6 (1995) - present
Nature Chemical Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2005) - present
Nature Protocols Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2006) - present
Neotropical Entomology Free online Full text: Vol. 30 (2001) - present
Neurobiology of Learning and Memory Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 63 (1995) - present
Neuropathology & Applied Neurobiology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 23 (1997) - present
Nuclear Medicine and Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 22 (1995) - present
Origins of Life and Evolution of Biospheres Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 27 (1997) - present
Pathologie Biologie Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 49 (2001) - present
Perspectives in Biology and Medicine Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 40, no. 2 (Winter 1997) - present
Pharmaceutical Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 36 (1998) up to twelve months ago
Philosophical Transactions: Biological Sciences Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 329 (1990) up to five years ago
Photochemical & Photobiological Sciences Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2002) - vol. 3 (2004)
Photochemistry and Photobiology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 83 (2007) - present
Physics in Medicine & Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 42 (1997) - present
Physiologia Plantarum Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 78 (1990) - present
Physiological and Biochemical Zoology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 72 (1999) - present
Physiological Entomology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 22, no. 4 (Dec. 1997) - present
Plant Systematics and Evolution Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 226 (2001) - present
PLoS Biology Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2003) - present
Polar Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 17, no. 2 (Jan. 1997) - present
Polar Bioscience Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (1987) - vol. 19 (2006)
Primates Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 44 (2003) - present
Proceedings of the Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (1841) up to three years ago
Proceedings of the Japan Academy, Series B: Physical and Biological Sciences Free online Full text: Vol. 79B (2003) - present
Proceedings of the Royal Society of London. Series B, Biological Sciences Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 116 (1934) - vol. 240 (1990)
Proceedings: Biological Sciences Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 241 (1990) up to five years ago
Progress in Neurobiology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 45 (1995) - present
Protoplasma Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 219 (2002) - present
Quarterly Review of Biology, The Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 74, no. 3 (Sep. 1999) up to twelve months ago
Research Journal of Biological Sciences Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2006) - present
Reviews in Fish Biology and Fisheries Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 7 (1997) - present
Revista de Biología Tropical Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 46 (1998) - vol. 51, no. 2 (Jun. 2003)
Russian Journal of Developmental Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 31, no. 6 (Nov. 2000) - present
Russian Journal of Marine Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 26, no. 6 (Nov. 2000) - present
Systematic Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 47 (1998) - present
Theoretical Biology and Medical Modelling Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (2004) - present
Turkish Journal of Biology Free online Full text: Vol. 22 (1998) - present
Turkish Journal of Zoology Free online Full text: Vol. 22 (1998) - present
World Wide Web Journal of Biology, The Free online Full text: Vol. 1 (1995) - present
Zebrafish Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 1 (2004) - present
Zoo Biology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 15 (1996) - present
Zoological Journal of the Linnean Society Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 134 (2002) - present
Zoological Research Free online Full text: Vol. 26 (2005) - present
Zoological Science Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 17 (2000) up to six months ago
Zoomorphology Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users Full text: Vol. 116 (1996) - present

Top of page

Online Textbooks

TitleAccess Level
Developmental Biology (6th (2000) ed.) Free online
Zebrafish Book: A Guide for the Laboratory Use of Zebrafish Danio rerio (5th (2007) ed.) Free online

Top of page

Database Resources

Title Description Access Level
Audubon's Birds of America Hosted at the University of Pittsburgh. Free online
Biological Abstracts® Coverage of the world's published biological and biomedical research, including traditional areas of biology (botany, zoology and microbiology), as well as experimental, clinical and veterinary medicine, biotechnology, and environmental studies. Restricted to UMMS/UMMHC users
BiologyBrowser A free web site offering resources for the life sciences information community. Produced by Thomson Scientific. Free online
Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) A multi-institutional initiative providing information on species including taxonomy, geographic distribution, collections, genetics, evolutionary history, morphology, behavior, ecological relationships, and importance for human well being. Free online
Quantitative Biology   Free online

Top of page

Search QUIN for "Biology"